It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 5:59 am 

Hello

I'm new to keeping wild angelfish. And probably as many of you have encountered on this forum a victim of my own ignorance. I have 6 juvenile AA that ive had for a couple weeks. I noticed that several started acting listless, hiding and stopped eating. I acted quickly and happily was able to find this forum. Doing extensive searches in the forum I found what i thought was the answer.

I begin a treatment with metro and prazi. I also created some medicated food with the metro. (as an aside Metro is truly a great drug, my dog has chronic IG issues and Flagyl <metro> is something that has worked wonders for him.
I'm happy to report all my angels are doing much better, coming forward when i approach the tank and looking for food. I'm going to continue with the medicated food for 3 more days (i believe is the right duration?). And today I will do a water change and dose again with the metro and prazi. Please let me know if this or isnt correct.

Here are some questions:

1) Am I correct that people will do a deworming treatment say every 3 months? Or 6 months? Prophylactically?

2) I am concerned about external parasites, and fin condition. Can I treat external issues at the same time? Are the medications for internal treatments counter indicated with any external treatments. What would you recommend for an external treatment? In my haste to treat my fish I went on a spending binge on Amazon and also have Bifuran, Paraguard and Cupramine, Kordon Rapid Cure. Just to be clear, i havent used any of these until i had a plan but i wanted to have things on hand in case i had to act quickly. I has seen the API Pima and Mela fix for fungal and bacterial infections... i wasnt sure if these products actually work?